Tuesday, August 4, 2009

A-League Season 5 - Perth Glory, It Begins

The Perth Glory have made some of the best signings so far, ranging from current Socceroos to players from the top leagues of Germany and England.

Coach David Mitchell likes to whinge and moan about long flights and how expensive Perth is to live in, and likes to kick water bottles on the pitch.

However, I believe Perth has made the right choice in keeping Mitchell as he is striving to re-build Perth Glory to something like what they were before in the old NSL.

Socceroos Mile Sterjovski (Derby) and Jacob Burns (FC Unirea Urziceni) are both full of experience at club and international level.

Serbian striker Branko Jelic (Energie Cottbus), at 32 yearS old, is nearing the veteran stage. Performances on the field is what counts and the striker has experience in Asia and Europe.

Ex -Derby defender Andy Todd will add bite to a defence that has needed it. Dutchman and former Ajax man Victor Sikora came late in the season. He will be one to watch as well.

A Football Story Prediction
Should make the finals this season after missing out every time since season one. Mile Sterjovski to be quoted numerous times throughout the season that the A-League and Championship are the same level if not better.

During the old NSL, the shed led the way in chanting, singing and fan culture. The A-League has seen the Shed not as animated, as results have been poor. Hopefully this season will see the Shed in full voice again.

Key Signing: Mile Strejovksi is a returning Socceroos under 30 with a World Cup position at stake, watch him go!

Key Player: Tony Sage is the key player here, the Perth Glory owner managed to convince three current Socceroos and two overseas players in Branko Jelic (Germany) and Andy Todd (England) to live in Perth.

Something interesting: Only club from the old NSL

Coach Quote: “No, I’m not Scottish!”

Fact: The Glory travel the longest distance to play a football game in world football when they fly over the ditch to play Wellington.

Thought: Arguably boast one of the best line ups in the A-League can they make the finals and relive past glories(pun intended)?

Current Squad: Scott BULLOCH, Jacob BURNS, Chris COYNE, Jamie COYNE, Eugene DADI, Jimmy DOWNEY, Howard FONDYKE, Brent GRIFFITHS, Jamie HARNWELL, Branko JELIC, Andrija JUKIC, Scott NEVILLE, Adriano PELLEGRINO, Naum SEKULOVSKI, Victor SIKORA, Anthony SKORICH, Wayne SRHOJ, Mile STERJOVSKI, Andrew TODD, Tando VELAPHI (gk) and Aleks VRTESKI (gk).

Re-signed: Eugene Dadi (1 year), Adriano Pellegrino (2 years), Naum Sekulovski (2 years), Victor Sikora (1 year), Scott Bulloch (1 year), Tando Velaphi (2 years), Wayne Srhoj (1 year).

In: Jacob Burns (FC Unirea Urziceni, Romania – 3 years), Chris Coyne (Colchester United, England - 3 years), Howard Fondyke (Perth Glory NYL - 2 years), Brent Griffiths (Perth Glory NYL – 2 years), Branko Jelic (Energie Cottbus, Germany – 3 years), Andrija Jukic (Perth Glory NYL - 2 years), Scott Neville (Perth Glory NYL - 3 years), Anthony Skorich (Perth Glory NYL – 2 years) , Mile Sterjovski (Derby County, England - ), Andy Todd (Derby County, England – 1 year), Aleks Vrteski (FK Pobeda – 2 years).

Out: Jason Petkovic (retired), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Newcastle Jets), David Tarka (released), Dino Djulbic (Rot Weiss Ahlen, Germany), Nick Rizzo (released), James Robinson (North Queensland Fury), Adrian Trinidad (released), Amaral (released), Josip Magdic (released), Nikita Rukavytsya (FC Twente, Netherlands), Hayden Doyle (Perth Glory NYL),
Hayden Foxe (released), Mark Lee (released)


Fan Forums

Fan Blogs

6PR will be broadcasting home and away games for season 5. The early part of the A-league season clashes with the AFL finals so check the website or the radio station to confirm what games are on.

Friday, 7 August 2009
Adelaide United v Perth Glory
Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide
Local Kick-off 7.30pm
Referee: Craig Zetter

Live & exclusive broadcast on Fox Sports 1. Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is LIFE FM, 6PR ( Perth ) 882AM. To purchase tickets visit www.venuetix.com.au

Adelaide United Squad: Adelaide United Squad: 1.Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk), 2.Robert CORNTHWAITE, 3.ALEMAO, 4.Iain FYFE, 6.CASSIO, 7.Lucas PANTELIS, 9.CRISTIANO, 10.Adam HUGHES, 11.Lloyd OWUSU, 12.Paul REID, 13.Travis DODD (c), 14.Scott JAMIESON, 15.Francesco MONTEROSSO, 16.Inseob SHIN, 17.Michael MARRONE, 23.Joe COSTA, 30.Daniel GODLEY (gk).

* 2 to be omitted

In: Daniel GODLEY (gk) (short term contract)

Unavailable: 5.Daniel MULLEN (hamstring – 3 weeks), 8.Kristian SARKIES (calf – 2 weeks), 18.Fabian BARBIERO (groin – 2 weeks), 20.Mark BIRIGHITTI (gk) (international duty)

Perth Glory Squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 3.Jamie COYNE, 4.Andy TODD, 6.Chris COYNE, 7.Jacob BURNS (c), 8.Victor SIKORA, 9.Todd HOWARTH, 11.Branko JELIC, 12.Scott NEVILLE, 14.Eugene DADI, 15.Howard FONDYKE, 16.Adriano PELLEGRINO, 18.Brent GRIFFITHS, 19.Naum SEKULOVSKI, 20.Aleks VRTESKI (gk), 21.Mile STERJOVSKI, 23.Andrija JUKIC
* two to be omitted

Unavailable: Jimmy DOWNEY (knee – 6 weeks), Jamie HARNWELL (hamstring – 3 weeks), Wayne SRHOJ (hamstring – 1 week), Scott BULLOCH (achilles – 2 weeks), Anthony SKORICH (hip – 8 weeks)

No comments:

Post a Comment