Tuesday, August 4, 2009

A-League Season 5 - North Queensland Fury, It Begins

The main question about the Fury and its chances for its debut A-League season rests with a rhetorical one: How about that heat?

The match commentators of the Fury home games will start talking about how hot it is, why Robbie Fowler isn’t playing, and also tell us not to be too harsh on the new boys as it’s their first season and that running a football club from scratch can be hard.

Fred Aguis (creativity and free kicks) and Robbie Fowler (Cause he is God). Ex-Adelaide United players Osama Malik and Jason Spanguolo should also get a mention as ones to watch out for as well.

If Fowler plays it will be great, if he scores even better.

But in the brief history of great Marquee players to have graced the bumpy pitches of the A-League, he fits the over-aged, over-paid and under-performing tag before he has even played a game.

A Football Story Prediction:
Dead last or sneaking into the finals

Key Signing: David Williams one of the best young players in Australia is full of potential.

Key Player: Robbie Fowler if he scores goals and doesn’t embarrass himself and the A-league then that will be excellent

Something interesting: Every time the Fury announce a player or administrator they leave but the replacements they get to come in are much better. Jade North –Robbie Fowler. Brendan Santalab-David Williams

Coach Quote: “How about this heat?

Fact: F-Troop is the name of the supporters group.

Thought: Could be everyone’s favourite second team; will add a tropical flavour to Australian Football.

Current Squad: Fred AGIUS, Jeremy BROCKIE, Beau BUSCH, Robbie FOWLER, Rostyn GRIFFITHS, Chris GROSSMAN, Paul KOHLER, Osama MALIK, Daniel McBREEN, Robert MIDDLEBY, Justin PASFIELD (gk), James ROBINSON, Jason SPAGNUOLO, Chris TADROSSE, Ufuk TALAY, John TAMBOURAS, Jacob TIMPANO, David WILLIAMS and Scott WILSON.

In: Fred Agius (Adelaide City – 1 year), Beau Busch (Sydney FC – 1 year), Jeremy Brockie (Team Wellington, New Zealand – 1 year), Robbie Fowler (Blackburn Rovers, England - 2 years), Rostyn Griffiths (Adelaide United – 1 year , Chris Grossman (Brisbane Roar – 1 year), Paul Kohler (Newcastle Jets – 1 year), Osama Malik (Adelaide United NYL – 1 year), Daniel McBreen (York City, England - 1 year), Robbie Middleby (Sydney FC – 2 years), Justin Pasfield (Wollongong Wolves - 2 years),James Robinson (Perth Glory – 2 years), Jason Spagnuolo (Adelaide United – 2 years), Chris Tadrosse (Central Coast Mariners – 2 years), Ufuk Talay (Avispa Fukuoka, Japan – 2 years), Jacob Timpano (Sydney FC – 2 years), David Williams (Brøndby - 1 year loan), Scott Wilson (Dunfermline Athletic – 2 years)




Fan Forums:


Fan Blogs



ABC Radio will broadcast the home games only on 630ABC Radio North Queensland.

Saturday, 8 August 2009
North Queensland Fury v Sydney FC
Dairy Farmers Stadium, Townsville
Local kick-off 5.30pm
Referee: Stebre Delovski

Live & exclusive broadcast on Fox Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3. To purchase tickets visit www.ticketek.com.au

North Queensland Fury: 1. Paul HENDERSON (gk), 2. Robbie MIDDLEBY, 3. Chris TADROSSE, 7. Jason SPAGNUOLO, 9. Robbie FOWLER, 11. David WILLIAMS, 12. Jack HINGERT, 13. Beau BUSCH, 14. Christopher GROSSMAN, 15. Fred AGIUS, 16. Paul KOHLER, 17. Osama MALIK, 18. James ROBINSON, 19. Daniel MCBREEN, 20. Justin PASFIELD (rgk)

Unavailable: Jeremy BROCKIE – quadriceps (6-8 weeks), Jacob TIMPANO – hamstring (8weeks), Ufuk TALAY – calf (2-3 weeks), Scott WILSON – foot (6-8 weeks)

Sydney FC: 1. Clint BOLTON (gk), 3. Stephan KELLER, 4. Simon COLOSIMO, 6. Karol KISEL, 7. Brendan GAN, 8. Stuart MUSIALIK, 9. John ALOISI, 10. Steve CORICA (c), 11. Kofi DANNING, 12. Shannon COLE, 14. Alex BROSQUE, 15. Terry MCFLYNN, 17. Matthew JURMAN, 19. Mark BRIDGE , 20. Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 22. Sung Hwan BYUN.
*One to be omitted.

Unavailable: 2. Sebastian RYALL (suspended – 4 weeks).

No comments:

Post a Comment